Eswatini assumes the presidency of SACU – The truth, for its own good.

King Mswati III of the Kingdom of Eswatini will assume the role of Chairman of the Southern African Customs Union Summit, succeeding Botswana President Mokgweetsi Eric Keabetswe Masisi.

It was then that the Kingdom of Eswatini assumed the chairmanship of the SACU Summit, Council of Ministers and Commission from July 15, 2022 to July 14, 2023.

Eswatini succeeds Botswana, which held the SACU Presidency from July 15, 2021 to July 14, 2022. The SACU Presidency rotates among member states, in alphabetical order, for 12-month increments.

This latest rotation means Eswatini’s finance minister, Neal Rijkenberg, will take on the role of chair of the SACU Council of Ministers, succeeding Botswana’s finance minister, Peggy O Serame.

Principal Secretary of Eswatini’s Ministry of Finance, Sizakele Dlamini, takes over as chair of the SACU Commission from Economic and Financial Policy Secretary of Botswana’s Ministry of Finance, Kelapile Ndobano.

In addition, the principal secretary in the Ministry of Finance of the Kingdom of Lesotho, Nthoateng Lebona, is now chairman of the finance and audit committee, succeeding the principal secretary of Eswatini, Sizakele Dlamini.

2022-07-18 Staff reporter


Comments are closed.